Categories
Uncategorized

A slow beginning to 2011, boat-wise.

These slow periods need to be understood and forgiven. I think that if you let yourself get bothered by them, the joy of what I am doing is peppered with guilt. The fact is, life gets in the way of plans.

There was another small hiccup in the build though. Dearest well-meaning Robert pointed out that the future interior finishing of the boat will be slowed when I have to sand the verticle surfaces, therefore I’d be better sanding each bulkhead’s third coat when the items are flat, before I went any further. Uggh.

The interior view, before the final sanding.

So out came each bulkhead, on came the earmuffs, numb went my fingers.

Now I am back where I was in January, the boat is looking like a boat, though rather skeletal and wrong-way-up. I have even fitted the bow piece in and am able to shut the shed door… just (50mm to spare!).

Bow piece of the building jig in place.

By paulatkins

I own a 3rd generation family businss printing for lovers of photography. My favourite hobby is building and sailing wooden boats.

3 replies on “A slow beginning to 2011, boat-wise.”

Life does indeed get in the way of, well, life. Lucky this is about the journey as well as the destination.
Sanding. I hate sanding. but he was right. The finish will be nicer and the job easier having done it now rather than when the boat is the right way up.
The bow peice looks very satisfying – lucky we moved the whole thing backwards!
is it the chine logs next?

My blog is a little behind, I have scarfed up the keelson (exhausting hand-cut with my new plane – thank you), and will sit that on to square it up, then bolt to the floor, and probably the inner stem, then the chine logs.

I love the nibbling at this big box of chocolates! You are so right about the journey stuff. How is the canoe?

Struggling with the seats at the moment. And did I tell you about the varnish debacle? What a mess! Will try to call tonight to swap business and boat stories.

Leave a comment