I thought scarfing was fun.

So I was in a hurry to acutally use my scarfing skills, and my new plane (thank you herr Jansen). I am a bit of a snob when it comes to wood work, I prefer to use the correct hand tools and techniques. About 10 years ago I was still belittling users of power drill-drivers. That is how silly I can be.

So, with this in mind, I had to join the keelson out of two lengths of 200mm x 15mm x 4500mm hoop pine. I was instructed to to a 10:1 scarfe, so I set up the stock and a bench, and set the plane, marked out the job and charged in to it. Twenty minutes later my arms were killing me. Three hours after that the scarfe was cut. Five days later my arms were still hurting. Actually the ache had migrated to my shoulders and neck and random upper-torso once unknown muscles.

I thought I had developed the family ‘curse’ of polymyalgia rheumatica, a blood borne muscular rheumatism that four of my close family are suffering through.

Enough whinging.

I am so proud of how it went, it looks great, does not distort the curve of the timber, and has puffed out my aching chest. Pity I’ll never see it once the hull is complete….

About paulatkins

I own a 3rd generation family businss printing for lovers of photography. My favourite hobby is building and sailing wooden boats.
This entry was posted in wood work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

