New Sharpie hits the water

I was very lucky to be at the launching of Adrian Galindo’s Electra on the 26th of January.

Adrian began building Electra after I did, and is now in the water, which is a bit of a tug at my green streak. Regardless, it was a celebration, and I feel really pleased for Adrian.

My progress is satisfactory, I am very much enjoying the build, but I would like more time to spend on the boat. This blog has been a victim of priority, but I will maintain it.

My boat’s hull is being prepped for the exterior lead shoe and final heavy fibre glass coat, it looks great, and by all assessment, sweet and fair.

The below photos are by myself, my friend Greg Anastasi, and Robert Ayliffe, so enjoy these launch photos.

About paulatkins

I own a 3rd generation family businss printing for lovers of photography. My favourite hobby is building and sailing wooden boats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Sharpie hits the water

  1. Ed says:

    I for one am glad to hear that you are still working on your boat. I have been fearing for some time that something has happened and I was never going to see the final episode. Your friend has a beautiful boat!

  2. I came over from Ed’s blog and I like this boat, but haven’t send anything quite like it on the East Coast of the USA… We have a few boats with mizzenmasts, but they are all larger. I like the looks of her. Six years ago I restored an old classic lightning and currently I am in a club racing Rhodes 19s.

    http://www.sagecoveredhills.blogspot.com

    • paulatkins says:

      Hi Sage,

      If you get to Connecticut, you should find a Sharpie or two, that is their origin. A famous one was used in Florida to run the sand bars carrying mail and cargo, it’s quite an old design. Lovely looking at your blog, hope you haven’t drowned your daughter’s boy friend yet!I agree with the concern.

      All the best!

Leave a Reply

