Purbonding time-lapse.

I am still messing with time-lapse photography, I had intended for the entire build to be recorded, but the failure of the DSLR I had employed has left me high and dry. Leaving a replacement $3k camera bolted to the rafters is something I could not afford and setting up a remote control-able camera time-lapse system was out of my desire range. So I will settle with recording interesting snippets when they occur to me.

The action of this Purbond is fascinating, you will note it foaming during the clamp up, also watch for the bit towards the end when I dive inside the hull and prop up a sagging plank.

About paulatkins

I own a 3rd generation family businss printing for lovers of photography. My favourite hobby is building and sailing wooden boats.
This entry was posted in NIS, norwalk island sharpie, Shedcam and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Purbonding time-lapse.

  1. mike J says:

    Nice work Captain Ahab. The hull looks like it is coming together nicely now, although I do not envy the part where you will need to sand and fair the whole thing!

    A shame about the camera – perhaps a low level GoPro might be in order to capture the workings?

  2. paulatkins says:

    The problem with the GoPro is you cannot just leave it in place for ten years, so you need to be able to realign it 100% after changing cards, setting it running when i want to work etc, up in the rafters it is impossible to look through the viewfinder. It’s a pity the shutter gave way on the old 14n, the camera had an A/C input and firewire to an old laptop that made it all easy.

    BTW. fairing will be a big job, a cursory glance gives the impression its all tickety-boo, but a close look reveals gentle undulations. I am looking forward to the exercise….I think.

  3. John says:

    LOL mike got to it first . I was going to recommend the GoPro too! Anyhow, the video still looks great.

Leave a Reply

