Favourite s-tool.

This may seem an odd tool, but I think it takes the roll of a tool well. It can be used to prop and clamp, it can be a bench, it can be a step, it can rest a plane (without dulling the blade), it can carry a load of pointy things safely, and it can ease your weary pins.

This box is old, possibly c1910. It’s handles are gracefully curved so it is a pleasure to pick up. It is light enough to kick around, but strong enough to leap upon.

I know it performed all of these tasks for my grandfather, and his father. I know it gave me the altitude to work at their level when I was small. My little daughters still use it to work the tools.

It also was my treasure chest when pirates were in play. And still it is my treasure.

About paulatkins

I own a 3rd generation family businss printing for lovers of photography. My favourite hobby is building and sailing wooden boats.
This entry was posted in Tools, wood work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Favourite s-tool.

  1. Ed says:

    Paul – I just wanted to say that I recently discovered this blog and read through all the back posts. I’m envious! I have built a strip canoe and a strip sea kayak over the years and loved building them so much that my dream has always been to open up a boat building shop and do that full time instead of my current job as an engineer. Right now I’m guessing that dream is still about five years out but in the mean time, I enjoy surfing the web for blogs on boat building. I will keep stopping back to see how things progress. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

