Getting centred.

I puzzled about this puzzlement as I have an (not unreasonable) fear of building a bent boat. The new building gig takes much of this worry away, and providing you have a level floor, I believe it would get you within 10mm of ‘straight’. Which is amazing for ‘zero’ effort. I distinctly remember the agonising over the ladder-frame gig for my Whilly Boat, and the niggling doubt that it must have a twist in it somewhere.

So the gig is up, bulkheads in and the keelson is poised. The keelson is not the next item to attach, but it plays a great role of locking in the centres. So I fit it to the middle bulkheads and gently draw the keelson down at the ends, watching it slot in one by one. Forward fits like a tube sock, aft displays a single bulkhead shuffle to the starboard by 8mm! A swift kick at stations F and G (appropriately named), and a wiggle back to the port for the transom sees the alignment sorted.

8mm error is pretty impressive, I am sure it could have been left in the boat, but why not kick a fix in?

Bulkhead levels

Now to confirm the level. I reckoned that if I took a straight edge and rested it across the gig adjacent to each station, and put a level on that, I could confirm all is sweet. And this proved easy enough, but it did confirm I have a 6mm lift in the port for-quarter.

To the wedges! Some well placed bits of wood have partially fixed the twist, no matter how much I jammed in under that part of the gig, I could not avoid distorting the bow, so i have left a 4mm twist in the forward part of my Sharpie.

So watch out competitors, I expect to be unpredictable on one or all points of sail!
Well at lease more unpredictable than I already am…

About paulatkins

I own a 3rd generation family businss printing for lovers of photography. My favourite hobby is building and sailing wooden boats.
This entry was posted in norwalk island sharpie, wood work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting centred.

  1. Herr jansen says:

    4mm! It will most certainly point a few degrees higher on stbd than on port now.

    Seriously though, that is very impressive for a jig laying on the floor.

    Well done!

Leave a Reply

